lightenload

Come with me on a spiritual Journey!

The Search

by Lewis Hamilton
From the book “The Gardener and My Garden” c1997

I was searching for God
so I went where he should be
I found the biggest church
but his face I didn’t see

I turned the TV on,
a man was saying a long prayer
He spoke his words right on cue
but I didn’t find God there

I followed religious rituals,
maybe that would be the key
to turn the lock of his door
where he would surely be

My search led me to people,
I was open for advice
Some thought my search was senseless,
Others were quite nice

I tried to find God within myself
by changing what I’d eat
There was still so much emptiness
for God I didn’t meet

Finally I tried something new
I got down on my knees to pray
I tried to think of what I felt
but didn’t know what to say

While on my knees I called Oh God
I’m searching hard for you
and I can’t find you anywhere
I don’t know what to do

I heard a voice, oh so small
that said, I’ll show you me
Just look around creation
I’m here for you to see

I made all things both big and small
to let you see my love
Meet me right here where you are
by praying to me above

Don’t look for me with human eyes,
your faith opens the door
Ask and I will live in you
and you will search no more.

I love those who love me, and
those who seek me find me.

Proverbs 8:17

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Search

  1. Pingback: The After the Super Bowl Blues! | lightenload

Leave a Reply

