lightenload

Come with me on a spiritual Journey!

Get Freed From Greed!

I like to have nice things just as you do!  Who would in their right mind tell you that they would rather have a computer that doesn’t work well or a car that is undependable?  It is very understandable that when we buy something we “need” we want to buy a high quality item.  What I am questioning is what do I really need and what is just greed?

Advertisers know how to push that greed button!  They know that I really don’t “need” that luxury car.  Yet, they can make it so appealing that my greed will take over!  I start making arguments for the greed and combined with all of the benefits the commercials point out, it may create an overwhelming desire for whatever it is!  What I have works just fine, but look at how great the thing they have is!  Look at all of the benefits their product provides!  Soon the thing that was just an idea of an advertiser finds a home in my house or sits on my driveway.

Buying things makes me feel good!  I’ve got the latest, greatest, most unique thing I’ve seen!  Later of course I’ll see another advertisement and wonder if I bought the right thing.  You may be saying to yourself I don’t pay any attention to advertising.  I don’t buy things just because I see them advertised.  Really?  Look around your house, in your cabinets, in your refrigerator!  Look in your basement and in all of the rooms.  Chances are very good that you will see things that came into your house as a result of advertising.  Chances are a lot of things you thought you “needed” were only greed items!

I have to ask myself this question again…What do I really need?  Well the basics of course…A roof over my head, a warm place to sleep, food, running water, and clothing.  I probably also need some kind of transportation to get me where I need to go.  OK, now I look around.  I’ve identified what things I really need.  WHAT IS ALL OF THIS OTHER STUFF?  Why is my house cluttered with all of this junk I don’t even use?  I’ll tell you why…At one time it was all “needed”.  Or was it I thought I needed?  I really didn’t “need”,  I just wanted!   Now look, I am a victim of my own greed!

So here is my dilemma.  What am I going to do with all of this junk that I have accumulated?  My ” treasures” are  things I am tripping over! My good feeling has  become buyers regret!  These useless things are  getting me down!

I know what I can do!  I’ll have a garage sale!  I’ll get rid of the “stuff” and make a little money too!  Of course I put a lot of work into my sale.  Things don’t sell themselves you know!  Finally I have my sale and am mildly successful.  Still I have tons of things that remain unsold.  I guess I can be “generous”!  I’ll give to the Salvation Army or Goodwill or whoever!  At this point my greed is really the driving force!  I’m not giving to help people as much as I am giving to get rid of things!  I’m sure the organization I’m giving to will appreciate my gift.  They are not concerned by the reason I am giving, but I should be! If I were giving for the right reasons  it would be so different!  I’d be  much better off,  happier and satisfied if I had resisted buying what I “needed“!  I wish I could have avoided this painful cycle!

The next poem is called “What I really Need”. When I get to the point where I realize what really makes me happy and satisfied, God will take the desire for things away from me!  He will make me content with what I have and give me a deep peace that only he can provide!  He will set me free from greed giving me a true spirit of giving!

Coming up next: What I Really Need

By Lewis Hamilton
From the book “The Gardener and My Garden” c1997

TV commercials, magazines,
billboards we drive by
comfort, luxury,
simple as pie

Stylish, elegant
going by the book
This new pearl necklace
gives me just the look

Tender, juicy, sweet and light
so come by and taste
Supermarket checkout line,
there’s no time to waste

Running to each item
the say will satisfy,
learning after buying
of their clever little lies

Material possessions
but nothing for my soul
Hunger unsatisfied
taking its toll

Jesus come by quickly
my spirit you will feed
Not food for my body
but what I really need.

For just as the sufferings of Christ
flow over into our lives, so also
through Christ our comfort overflows.
II Corinthians 1:5

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

