lightenload

Come with me on a spiritual Journey!

The Gardener and My Garden II

by Lewis Hamilton
from the book “The Gardener and My Garden” c1997

The gardener stopped by
the other day
to look at my flowers
in his usual way

But I told him the weeds
had taken it over
and I didn’t have
a garden anymore

Can you ever forgive me?
I heard myself say
If your advice I had taken,
I’d have flowers today

Those weeds that took over
at first didn’t look bad
But look out there now,
the view is so sad

I guess it’s too late
This mistake I have found,
trying to do it myself,
I’ve ruined the ground

I’m sorry, Mr. Gardener
Your work is so fine
You better see other gardens
so they don’t end up like mine

The gardener turned to me
There was hope in his voice
We can start a new garden
I’ll make it your choice

Let me pull all those weeds
Now give me the reign
to plant some new flowers
all over again

Let me come out early
and work every day
Let me make this ground over
Don’t get in the way

Your flowers will grow beautifully
as you will see
when you take yourself out
and leave the gardening to me

He worked oh so carefully
but it didn’t seem fair,
each day I looked out
he was always there

I told him I’d pay him
He said, No this is free
When they look at these flowers
they’ll be looking at me.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ,
he is a new creation; the old has
gone, the new has come!

II Corinthians 5:17

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Gardener and My Garden II

  1. Loved the poem, very deep and thought provoking.

  2. Lewis, this was a great idea to post your wonderful heart warming poems here. The world can now read your words and feel a part of your experiences that led to your writings. What a great way to share your faith in Christ Jesus and minister to others in their sufferings and spiritual findings. To God be the glory; great things He will do in your work.

  3. Pingback: What Happens After We Choke? | lightenload

  4. Intriguing write! How compassionate the Gardener is! And the second chance! Am teary….

Leave a Reply

