lightenload

Come with me on a spiritual Journey!

The Trio

by Lewis Hamilton
from the book “The Gardener and My Garden” c1997

I was managing a trio
my spirit, soul, and flesh
trying to find the combination
where everything would mesh

My flesh wanted to sing the lead,
Give me the microphone
You others just sit down and watch
I’ll do this act alone

He jumped up and sang real loud
I was trying to be kind
But soon I pulled him off the stage
Not what I had in mind

My soul took the microphone saying,
I’ve been thinking this thing through
You want someone to sing the lead?
That’s exactly what I’ll do

When he was halfway through the song
the sound still wasn’t right
I had to drag him off the stage
He put up quite a fight

I had one more to give a chance,
my mood returned to blue
Come on, spirit, take the stage
Let’s see what you can do

His voice was what I longed to hear,
it fit my every need
OK, I said, the job is yours
You’ll always sing my lead!

The others didn’t like their fate,
they wanted the lead part
So when I gave them back-up roles
they didn’t like it from the start

Quite a job I had to do
to keep those two in line
They’d each grab the microphone
yelling, This job should be mine!

Sometimes I’d give in to them,
got tired of the fight
OK, I said, Soul you lead
but only for the night

Everything was out of line
I had to change their roles
I told them we must switch back now
with my spirit in control

I had to force them back in line,
it was always such a fight
Those two had minds all their own
I had to do what I felt was right

Then I heard them singing
in their parts like they should be
With my spirit the lead singer
and the others in harmony

The sound was just so perfect,
it flowed throughout the song
In every way I realized
my decision wasn’t wrong

So now I ask this question
about the trio in your heart
Is the sound all rich and pure
cause everyone’s in their part?

Or is there something missing?
Not the harmony you need
because you have not realized
your spirit has to lead.

For the word of God is living
and active. sharper than any
double-edged sword, it penetrates
even to dividing soul and spirit,
joints and marrow; it judges the
thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

Hebrews 4:12

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Trio

  1. I love the imagery of “the trio” and how they finally learned to harmonize. What a great way to explain it!

Leave a Reply

