lightenload

Come with me on a spiritual Journey!

I Can’t, But You Can

By Lewis Hamilton
From the book “The Gardener and My Garden” c1997

Lord, I cannot live the Christian life
and run the race you ran
I cannot walk my talk each day
I can’t, but you can

I cannot love my neighbor
whose actions I can’t stand
I cannot stop and help them
I can’t, but you can

I cannot turn the other cheek
or forgive my fellow man
I cannot keep your commandments
I can’t, but you can

So why do I keep struggling
trying to live my life so right?
Don’t I understand that
it’s sinful in your sight?

Why do I in my own power
try to carry your plan through
Don’t I realize my hope and strength
can only come from you?

Live your life in me Lord,
let mine turn into yours
May what you do through me
open many doors

I will not live my life anymore
I place it in your hands
I cannot live in victory
I can’t, but you can!

I have been crucified with Christ
and I no longer live, but Christ
lives in me. The life I live in the
body, I live by faith in the Son of
God, who loved me and gave
himself for me.

Galatians 2:20

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “I Can’t, But You Can

  1. Heather A on said:

    love this one!

  2. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13

  3. This is a beautiful poem. I loved it. Only surrendering my life to Christ can this love be accomplished. Not in my own strength. Thanks for sharing Lewis.

  4. Thanks Lewis, this poem is beautiful. I loved it. You are so right, without Christ in me, I can’t love as I should. He loves through me. Hallelujah! It’s no longer I that liveth, but Christ Jesus lives in me.

Leave a Reply

