lightenload

Come with me on a spiritual Journey!

The Gardener And My Garden III

This is the third poem of the Gardener and My Garden series.
Click the Gardener and My Garden category listed on the right hand
side to read the first two Gardener and My Gardener poems.

The Gardener and My Garden III

by Lewis Hamilton
from the book “The Gardener and My Garden” c1997

The Gardener stopped by
the other day
to tend my new garden
in his usual way

But I still didn’t see
the results of his wear
so I asked him,
why aren’t there flowers out there?

The gardener was patient
He smiled at me,
Your flowers are growing
even though you don’t see

There are rules we must follow
so your flowers will grow tall
and the first one we know
they must start very small

The seed must be planted
deep rooted and sound
It must grow strong and healthy
before coming out of the ground

The seeds have been planted,
the weeds are all gone
keep checking your garden,
you’ll have flowers before long!

So I checked my new garden
and one day I found
tiny little plant life
had come out of the ground

The plants looked so helpless
so I made the call,
Mr. Gardener, you’re mistaken,
these aren’t flowers at all

The gardener came by quickly,
he seemed, oh so pleased
He cared for those little plants
that to me looked like weeds

They don’t look like much
but I know what they’ll be
Just watch as they grow
then you will see

The most beautiful flowers
that you ever saw
Cause we did things with patience
and followed the law

Have faith in your gardener,
please listen to me,
What makes beautiful flowers
are things you can’t see

One day I looked out
and I saw something new,
these little plants had grown
one foot, maybe two!

The colors were beautiful
in those flowers so tall
But there was a new beauty
I’d never thought of at all

The most beautiful part
of these flowers, I mean
was not their fine colors
but what couldn’t be seen.

Beauty beneath the colors
Beauty beneath the colors


So we fix our eyes not on what
is seen, but on what is unseen.
For what is seen is temporary,
but what is unseen is eternal.

II Corinthians 4:18

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The Gardener And My Garden III

  1. Pingback: Lightenload-2012 year in Review « lightenload

  2. Very beautiful and inspiring poem Lewis!

  3. Very eye olening poem Lewis. I am glad you made me read you. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

