lightenload

Come with me on a spiritual Journey!

Empty Shoes

They say that to totally understand what someone is going through you need to walk a mile in their shoes.  The other day I was searching in the basement for something and discovered a pile of my own shoes that I wasn’t wearing anymore.  Some of the shoes were specialty shoes for softball or the gym.  Still others were just shoes that I used to wear but were replaced by another pair I liked better.  Either way I guess I am reluctant to toss out perfectly good shoes just because I don’t wear them anymore.

Shoes

I was reading an article about shoes the other day.  It seems that even when we were going through the economic downturn the shoe industry stayed strong.  I guess no matter how bad it gets we will always want our shoes.  You will notice that there are people who have a pair of shoes for every outfit that they wear!  I’ve read that there is a psychological high to buying a pair of shoes and that we can justify buying them easier.  Sometimes with purchases we get buyers remorse.  After the high of buying the item the guilt and regret come in.  From what I’ve read it seems that the purchase of shoes can be justified in our minds far easier and the incidence of buyers remorse is far less than normal clothing.

So what is this obsession that we have about shoes?  I read that on average, a woman owns 20 pairs of shoes at any given time. Many own more.

05shoe-ensha-slide-6E5P-jumboThe theme of Shoe Obsession, was exhibited at The Museum of New York’s Fashion Institute of Technology (F.I.T.), where 150 contemporary shoes by 50 different international designers were portrayed  to inspire a feeling of awe and reverence that may remind us of a church service.

Reading these kind of articles makes me think again about our priorities and our desire to substitute things for that place that God should be in our lives.  Obsessions with things can’t be good because it reveals what is really important to us.  Buying things that we think will make us happy is a compulsion that we as Americans have.  Let’s face it, there is a certain thrill with buying the latest and the greatest thing.  If it is not shoes it may be an electronic gadget, or the latest in clothing.  Before purchasing things we should ask ourselves the question of why?  Is it something we really need or are we following the trend?  Do we buy for the temporary high that comes with the purchase?

Many of us in America are so fortunate.  We have an abundance of everything and we get a high on buying things we really don’t need.  This pile I have of unused shoes is a lot like what we have become.  At one time all of my shoes were useful until something better came along.  Now they are sitting there with no use at all.  Maybe as this Christmas season approaches we should clean out our closets of the abundance that we have.  Maybe someone in need would be blessed with things that we really don’t need.  Seeing a smile form on someones face from receiving a gift from our abundance would be so rewarding!  We can’t walk a mile in their shoes because every path is different, but we can make their walk a little more comfortable.  Now that would be a high feeling that is real and lasting!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Empty Shoes

  1. Very true Lewis! It reminds me of something that just occurred in my life and testifies to the fact that what someone might no longer have need for they should give away instead of keep as that thing might just be what someone else is in need of at the time and it could be a blessing to someone’s life. This has always been a thought of mine, but just recently happened again in my life to once again validate it. I do agree as we are most abundantly blessed we should in turn bless others. Thanks Lewis. I will share this.

  2. Heart of Angels on said:

    Very inspiring & true words. I agree. There’s so many things we have that we put aside in our storage that could be useful for someone else. What we don’t use & don’t need could be everything for someone. The Red Cross gladly accepts these things which they give to the people who needs them. I’m greatful for having a home where I can stay warm, clothes, food, education, good health & loved ones around me…To give clothes & shoes, a loaf of bread & some soup or to just give a smile to someone can make their day. Bless you for your kind & loving words & thoughts:) Love & light to you & your loved ones always:) <3 xxx

  3. You hit the nail on the head with this one Lewis! Thank you for reminding us what is truly important :)

Leave a Reply

