lightenload

Come with me on a spiritual Journey!

No Experience Needed!

I remember the puzzlement of going to job interviews fresh from getting a degree and entering the job world.  Inevitably the question would arise “Well what kind of experience do you have?”  In the world of today that wrong has been corrected.  Students are required or it is recommended that they have some kind of internship that answers that question.  At the time I was forced to answer that while I didn’t have the work experience they may be looking for I did have the Knowledge that an education provided.  Most of the time the hardened professionals had only one type of candidate they wanted to hire.  It would be the candidate that already had years of experience who just happened to fall in their laps.  A college kid with fresh ideas but no work experience was the last person they wanted in their don’t rock the boat world.

Interview

Saying all of that, sometimes I notice job ads today that actually state “No Experience Necessary.”  Almost every time I’ve found that these jobs are ones nobody wants like selling vacuum cleaners or being a telemarketer.  Of course you don’t need experience they figure because if you were experienced you wouldn’t want that job or they couldn’t teach you their five step technique of reading lines as soon as the phone is answered.  Being on the other end many times, as I’m sure you have been also,  you might get the hello in before the reading begins.  Only by interrupting the caller and appearing rude are you able to have an intelligent conversation.

It strikes me strange that either we don’t want the person with no work experience or we will hire anyone who is breathing.  In the first case it always seemed like a catch 22.  How can I get experience if nobody will hire me?  In the second case it borders on ridiculous.  If nobody is disqualified where is the uniqueness that  separates my talent from other people applying?  Somewhere along the line it seems there should be a happy medium.

I don’t have a modern navigational tool in my car and every now and then using Mapquest on a trip something goes wrong.  Perhaps an exit is missed or the directions seem unclear.  I am not like some guys people joke about.  “He won’t admit he doesn’t know where he is going, so we drive around until we are completely lost.”  The minute I realize I don’t know what I’m supposed to do I have an eye out for a nearby gas station or business.

Let's stop and ask someone

Let’s stop and ask someone

Of course I check out the persons credentials right?  Sir, before I ask you directions do you have references?  Do you have a few years experience giving out directions?  Have you had complaints about the directions you gave?  Have you lived in the area for over ten years?  How does working at this gas station qualify you to give me directions?  Of course I don’t ask any of these questions.  One question I usually ask is “Are you familiar with this area?”  Normally if the person works there they are, but asking someone pumping gas or someone walking can get the dreaded “no, I am not from around here.”  Those are the times I search for a different candidate.

There is something about getting information face to face.  I like to see their face and their reactions.  Sometimes it can be lighthearted.  “I have gotten completely turned around”, I might offer, “can you help me?”  With that kind of approach I can get a good feel for the person.  Usually I can see in their demeanor that they are willing to help.  They may even smile and ask “How can I help you?”  Sometimes I may be further off of the path I should be on.  I’ve found that the best direction givers are good map drawers too!  It isn’t good enough to tell me to make three lefts and four rights because I get back to the car and I’m thinking “did she say three or four rights?”  I have a friend who used to give me directions on the phone to one of the ball fields we would probably never see again.  After listening and trying to remember his directions he would then say “or you could go this way”, and he would give me a whole set of other directions.  After all of that explaining I was more confused than when he started.  The map drawer on the other hand gives you one direction.  Here you are they pinpoint you on their map.  Then they draw the roads and the traffic lights.  When I leave I have a map and memory of the directions they gave and I’m all set!

I like that person to person contact when getting directions.  I feel like that I can sense if the person really knows and is sincere.  I don’t think I have ever had a person deliberately give me the wrong directions.  I may have misunderstood them a time or two and had to ask someone else along the way, but I never felt it was a deliberate unkind act.  The same thing cannot be said about opinions on the internet.  The internet is very impersonal.   You don’t have to have any qualifications to put an opinion out there.  Maybe you have a little rash on your arm or something and it concerns you enough to check symptoms on the internet.  I’m amazed that invariably someone will write something so bad that you will think you are dying.  I don’t know what thrill they get out of this mind game.  I’m sure that they are the cause of much worry and despair because many people take opinions of others very seriously.  Reading something like that, we can forget about the source.  Many times we don’t ask for qualifications, we just accept what they said as fact.

We recently got back from a vacation to Myrtle Beach.  As a kid I remember making long trips with my family where we would only stop to use the restroom.  When we go on trips I try to spread out the traveling so that the trip is much more enjoyable.  I’ll divide up the driving (usually more on the first day) and look for a hotel on the path to our destination.  On this last trip we used two stops each way.  Usually choosing a hotel revolves around which town I choose to stay in based on the proximity to the highway and the distance traveled.  Invariably while choosing candidates I will read the reviews of the hotels.  Almost every time there will be some people who rate the hotel very high, some in the middle and a few at the very bottom.  On our recent trip I had no problems with any of the hotels that we stayed in.  Each one had their own uniqueness and strong points.  One for instance didn’t serve breakfast but had by far the lowest price.  It was clean and nice and the bed was very comfortable.  The TV was antique in the world today (not a flat screen), but it could swivel so you could turn it toward you. The room was more like a suite with different areas giving it a feel of more than one room.  The other three were higher priced but did offer a breakfast.  One of the breakfasts was about average, and the other two were super nice!  All of the beds in everywhere we stayed were very comfortable and all of the rooms seemed very clean!  After experiencing each room I would give them all strong passing grades!

From my experience it was very clean with a great breakfast

From my experience it was very clean with a great breakfast

If I relied totally on the internet I’m not sure which hotels I would have wanted to stay in.  The very first one for instance had in my opinion a very comfortable bed, nice TV, and the best breakfast money can buy!  The breakfast at this place was incredible and it left a lasting impression with me!  I read many reviews and almost every one mentioned how great the breakfast was.  Then there was one oddball reviewer that went totally in the other direction.  All of the review was written in capital letters and this is what it said.  NEVER EVER, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, STAY AT THIS HOTEL, FILTHIEST, NASTIEST HOTEL I’VE EVER STAYED IN.  This was 100% the opposite of my experience in this hotel and it made me wonder.  I wonder how 90% of the people had fantastic stays and others may have nitpicked a few things, but this person gave such a completely negative review?  Then the thought occurred to me…maybe this person didn’t stay in the hotel at all.  There were no qualifications to the review he left.  It didn’t say what dates he was there and nobody could go back and get the related data.  Maybe for some reason he had something against the hotel or maybe he just enjoyed sniping websites and throwing something bad into the mix.  Perhaps this is the mentality of people who invent viruses that take down major computer systems.  They may see the damages they have caused as just being clever and funny.

Andrae Crouch

Throughout history people have badmouthed Christianity.  Many have tried to make it as unappealing as possible.  They have led many astray because their opinions have been taken to heart.  For those out there that have not made a decision for Christ based on what someone else thinks I have this question…What are their qualifications?  Have they ever experienced Salvation?  Have they ever known the love of Jesus Christ in their own heart?  I would hazard a guess that the answer to both of those questions is no.  Quit listening to people not experienced in the topic.  When seeking help experience is important and  necessary!  Once you have experienced God’s love in your life you will agree with Andrae Crouch and his lyrics to his “I Didn’t Think It Could Be” song!  “I didn’t think it could be until it happened to me and you’ll never know that it’s true until it happens to you!”

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

