lightenload

Come with me on a spiritual Journey!

This I Know!

I guess I bought the book years ago because of it’s interesting title.  It was “All I Really Need To Know I Learned In Kindergarten”, by Robert Fulghum.  The author stated that “All I need to know and how to live and what to do and how to be I learned in Kindergarten.  Wisdom was not at the graduate school mountain but there in the sand pile at school.”  Here is the list that the author outlined in the book.

Simple Faith

Simple Faith

Share everything

play fair,

don’t hit people

put back things where you found them

clean up your own mess

don’t take things that aren’t yours

say your sorry when you hurt somebody

wash your hands before you eat

flush

warm cookies and cold milk are good for you

Live a balanced life-learn some and think some and draw and paint and sing and dance and play and work every day some

take a nap every afternoon

When you go out in the world, watch for traffic, hold hands and stick together

be aware of wonder, Remember the little seed in the Styrofoam cup: the roots go down and the plant goes up, and nobody knows how or why but we are all like that

Goldfish, hamsters, the little white mice, and even the seed in the Styrofoam cup-they all die-so do we

And remember the Dick and Jane books and the first word you learned-The biggest word of all – LOOK

Everything you need to know is in there somewhere. The Golden Rule and love and basic sanitation. Ecology and politics and equality and sane living.

Take any one of those items and extrapolate it into sophisticated adult terms and apply it to your family life or your work or government or your world and it holds true and clear and firm. Think what a better world it would be if we all – the whole world – had cookies and milk at about 3 o’clock in the afternoon and then lay down with our blankies for a nap. Or if all governments had as a basic policy to always put things back where they found them and to clean up their own mess.

And it is still true, no matter how old you are, when you go out in the world, it is best to hold hands and stick together.

The author is talking about the very basics which sometimes we have a hard time going back to.   In reality he is not talking about everything I need to know but drawing a foundation for everything.  With that foundation we can go back to the basics.  Things in adult life get complicated, but when we go back to the sound principles we were taught early we find that whatever situation we are in is related to those early building blocks.

I started going regularly to church when I was nine because of a church that sent a bus to our neighborhood.  I think a letter was sent that they were going to send a bus to pick up kids to go to church.  Anyway a bus started coming by and a few of us started getting on it.  It took us to The Missionary Church which was maybe three miles from my house.  Since we were young instead of sitting through the regular church service they had a children’s church service in the basement.  A lady named Patsy led us through and taught us songs while her sister Roxy played the piano.  They also told Bible stories and used cut out paper images to tell the stories.  I can truly say that all I really needed to know spiritually I learned in Children’s Church!  Like the writer of the Kindergarten book the very basics of my understanding was formed.  For example:

jesus loves me photo: Jesus Loves Everyone JesusLovesEverybody.jpg

I learned a song with the lyrics Jesus Loves Me, This I know, For the Bible tells me so, Little ones to him belong, they are weak but he is strong.  It is a very basic faith song yet what a powerful message!  The creator of the universe loves me!  I didn’t question the lyrics or doubt the truth.  We sang the song and it seemed in my heart that it was true!

I learned that God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son, that whosoever believes in him shall not parish but will have eternal life.  I learned in another song that whosoever included me!

I learned from a song called Sunbeam that Jesus wants me for a sunbeam to shine for him each day. In every way try to please him at home, at work, at play.

The messages penetrated into my soul and although I rejected his messages for a long time they were there in my being as a picture of how I was supposed to live.  The child like simple truths are really all that we need.  Jesus said that “unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.  Matthew 18:3

Little children are trusting and want very badly to please.  They take things at face value without questioning.  They are loving, caring, and dependent on us.  Unfortunately throughout our land we are taught to get away from the basics. We are taught that our basic values that were ingrained in us very early are simplistic and childish.  We are taught at Universities throughout our land to question everything.  We are taught that everything needs to be explained to have value.  The world questions how we can live on blind faith?

I can truly tell you that it is more than blind faith!  It is a peace that passes all understanding!  It is a feeling of love that can’t be described!  It is being happy even when everything is going badly.  It is knowing that if God is with us who can be against us?  I cannot explain electricity, but I can turn the switch on!  When I do turn the switch the light comes on!  I’m sure it is a truth I learned very early as you did too! Instead of trying to explain it I just turn the switch if I want light.  Questioning God works the same way.  I have decided to have faith that he knows what he is doing!  It is a child like faith.  It is something I go back to in a child like believing way because he put the wisdom in there years ago.  It is a spirit of giving in to God and being happy in him!  Indeed it is simple but oh so powerful!  Yes, Jesus loves me, This I know!

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “This I Know!

  1. Cyndi Revis on said:

    Lewis, another amazing story. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Wow! Loved this one Lewis! I’m going to “flag” this one :)

Leave a Reply

