lightenload

Come with me on a spiritual Journey!

My Love Is Endless

I had a very short dream last night.  I was sitting in this glass building and people on the outside were going to work.  It reminded me of some of those TV sets that you can see the people on the outside trying to get the attention of the camera.  This was just the opposite though.  From my seat on the inside I was paying attention to the people on the outside.  I saw several people and they were getting attention like famous people do.  Each one seemed delighted and happy that they were known and were greeted in such a loving way.  Several people passed and I was watching every one.  Suddenly a familiar face walked by.  It was the bearded face of Leo Buscaglia who was affectionately known as the love doctor because he had the ability to verbalize love as he saw it.  “Hey Buscaglia”, I shouted.  He had a smile on his face and he kind of looked around.  He heard me but didn’t see me.  I could tell though that he was pleased to be recognized and it made him happy.  Suddenly I woke up and I felt the spirit of God so powerfully in my spirit.

http://media.gettyimages.com/photos/business-people-passing-modern-office-building-picture-id537682673?s=170667a

Normally in my stories I might give the background of Buscaglia.  I might tell his story and how he became “the love doctor.”  The message that I got though wasn’t really about Buscaglia.  Buscaglia had ideas about love but they were always self driven.  His message was about making the effort to love and everything we needed to do to embrace love.  My dream with him in it was simply a way that God used to get me on the subject of love.  “Lord, what was that all about?”, I wondered.  Without hesitation the Holy Spirit within me gave the answer.  “I want you to know how how much I love you.”

https://i0.wp.com/image.pbs.org/video-assets/KVIE/kvie-public-television/22568/images/Mezzanine_216.jpg.fit.344x192.jpg

Usually the passage in 1 Corinthians chapter 13 is applied to how we should love. I was told that the description of how we should love comes from how he loves us.  Starting with verse 4 we read “love is patient, love is kind, it does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude , it is not self seeking.  It is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always preserves.

God gave me a revelation of the peaceful feeling we get when we give our lives to him.  Jesus told his disciples that it is necessary for him to go.  He promised that he would send the comforter to them.  This comforter is of course the Holy Spirit.  That comfort and peace that he gives us is him showing his love in us.  When we embrace it and open ourselves up to following his spirit it becomes something we want to share!  It is not us generating the love like Buscaglia taught, but it is just accepting God’s love within us and letting that spirit of love he gives spread to those we come in contact with.

Something else was revealed to me this morning.  That peaceful loving feeling that the Holy Spirit gives us as he enters our lives will be with us throughout eternity.  That spirit will be only of love.  We will be surrounded by loved ones in a lovely place beyond description with a love in our hearts that will never die!  I Corinthians 2:9 states that “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, Nor have entered into the heart of man the things that God has prepared for those who love him.”

https://i2.wp.com/danache.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/heavens-surprise.jpg

Buscaglia taught us to embrace love, but God is letting us know that he wants us to embrace him.  Since God is love it is like directly plugging into the power source!  His message this morning is that we cannot comprehend how much he loves us!  It is a love so deep, so strong, and so heart felt that he was willing to sacrifice his only son for us. Emerge yourself in his endless love!  John 15:13 states that “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.

Love
By Lewis Hamilton
From the book “The Gardener and My Garden” c1997

That rock song speaks of love
playing on the radio
Words are ringing from their lips
but the meaning they don’t know

We know the meaning of the word
if we’ve been truly saved
No greater love was ever shown
when Jesus’ life he gave

To rescue us from all hell’s flames
he brought us back to God again
With a loving heart from heaven above
God sent his son to show us love

This love so great can’t be explained
by earthly men with earthly brains
It goes beyond our normal mind,
a love so real, a love so kind

To sacrifice his only son
for our salvation to be won
The blood he spilled upon the tree,
he died for you, he died for me

The song plays on, the words are sung
The truth is never heard
The greatest love song there ever was
is written in God’s word.

This is how God showed his
love among us. He sent his one
and only Son into the world that
we might live through him.

I John 4:9

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “My Love Is Endless

  1. This is the second time in three days time I’ve heard/read this 1 Corinthians chapter 13 scripture Lewis! It’s a wonderful and comforting passage :)

  2. Cynthia Revis on said:

    Beautiful story Lewis. I am so blessed to be able to read your awesome stories. Keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

